Although a lot of vegan foods are gluten-free, there are vegan foods that do contain gluten. 

A vegan diet is based upon eating plants and excludes foods derived from animals, (this means no cheese, eggs, meat or fish.)

Veganism has had a rise in the last few years. More and more people are choosing to alter their diet to exclude foods derived from animals. But what about gluten? Can people who have celiac disease thrive on a vegan diet without it leading to nutrient deficiency? Is it possible to go vegan if you have celiac disease?

Can you go vegan if you have celiac disease?

Can you go vegan if you have celiac disease?

So what is celiac disease? Celiac disease (also spelled coeliac) is a form of gluten intolerance that involves the immune system attacking the gluten and the lining of the gut. This, in turn, leads to damaging the gut wall and may cause nutrient deficiencies, osteoporosis, anemia, and digestive issues.

Gluten is the general name for proteins found in grains such as wheat, rye, and barley. It’s commonly found in bread, pasta, cereals, cookies, cakes, and beer. Of course, there are gluten-free options available, but they’re not as easy to find. Unless you have celiac disease or wheat allergy, gluten should not be a problem.

A gluten-free diet is pretty self-explanatory: It's a diet on which you don't eat gluten. This means that products containing wheat, rye, or barley, must be eliminated from your diet. Products that contain traces of gluten are also off-limits. 

Along with avoiding these grains, other grains such as wheat bran, wheat germ, durum flour, bulgur, and other grains containing gluten are off the menu.

The vegan and gluten-free diet.

A vegan diet often consists of a variety of foods such as fruits, vegetables, legumes, and whole grains.  Except for those with a gluten allergy, most vegans do not exclude gluten from their diet.

To cut out animal products along with gluten can feel like an overwhelming task, but it is possible to thrive and get enough nutrients on a vegan diet even if you have celiac disease. 

Gluten-free vegans may notice that they have to eliminate more than certain grains containing gluten from their diet. 

Some plant-based milk is made from oats or can contain flavorings that contain gluten. Gluten is often included in mock meats and other vegan processed food such as cookies, crackers, dressings, soy sauce, and marinades.  A majority of what has to be excluded from a vegan, gluten-free diet is processed food. What is left to eat is mostly whole-foods.

What to eat as a vegan with celiac disease?

Grains such as rice, corn, flax, millet, sorghum, quinoa, oats, and buckwheat are gluten-free and should be included in a vegan diet. However, note that oats are often contaminated by gluten, so look for the gluten-free label when purchasing oats.

Besides grains, there is a diverse range of gluten-free, vegan foods to include in your diet.  Staples such as fruits, vegetables, legumes, lentils, nuts, and seeds are naturally free from gluten. Instead of eating cereals for breakfast, aim for a bowl of oatmeal, chia pudding, or soygurt with homemade granola. For dinner, replace pasta with rice, beans, or lentils, and add some tofu or tempeh on the side. Instead of focusing on processed foods, eat whole foods.

Since more and more people are choosing to eat gluten-free, more and more gluten-free products are hitting the shelves. Gluten-free vegans still have plenty of options when it comes to processed vegan food. Daiya offers vegan and gluten-free cheese, Beyond Meat offers mock-meat, and if you’re looking for pasta, there's plenty made from gluten-free grains in your local grocery store. 

If you’re looking for gluten-free vegan treats, then you’re in luck because here at The Goodness Project we offer a Gluten-free Vegan subscription box to help you discover new, gluten-free, natural foods that you might love.

If you’re looking for inspiration on what meals to cook on a vegan diet with celiac disease, there’s a lot to find online. Pinterest is full of delicious-looking recipes, and bloggers such as Minimalist Baker, and Vegan Richa have plenty of recipes suited for gluten-free vegans.Such as these delicious recipes from the Minimalist baker:

One pot gluten-free minestrone

Vegan apple pie crumble bars

Easy vegan gluten-free pizza

Apart from these online recipes, there are several gluten-free vegan cookbooks available for purchase.

For example, this gluten-free vegan cookbook that stores more than a hundred recipes, or this Gluten-Free & Vegan for the Whole Family cookbook by Jennifer Katzinger.



Hello & Welcome 👋

My name is Anna and I'm the co-founder of The Goodness Project. This is a little place where we will be sharing some of the things that inspire us at The Goodness Project - the food, the brands, the people and the lifestyle. We hope you enjoy your stay! :)

More gift ideas

Our most popular gift boxes

The Little Treat Box The Little Treat Box

The Little Treat Box

 / package
Vegan Chocolate and Snack Hamper Gift BoxVegan Chocolate and Snack Hamper Gift Box

Vegan Chocolate and Snack Hamper Gift Box

 / package
San Vito Organic Red Wine Gift Box HamperSan Vito Organic Red Wine Gift Box Hamper

San Vito Organic Red Wine Gift Box Hamper

 / package

Did you read these?

More from the goodness blog

Top 5 Vegan Friendly Christmas Gift Ideas 2017

Top 5 Vegan Friendly Christmas Gift Ideas 2017

It goes without saying that Christmas is indeed my favourite time of year. For most of us choosing that special gift for loved ones is not without its fraught, hair pulling, face grimacing moments of how can I make it thoughtful, personal or unique; all without having to endure hours of traipsing around shops, locating said thoughtful gift, wrapping it and dispatching it!

12 of the Best Vegan Christmas Recipes

12 of the Best Vegan Christmas Recipes

No matter what type of year it has been, Christmas is a time where we can all sit back, take stock, recuperate and indulge.

Whether we just indulge in extra resting and relaxation, or whether our indulgences are slightly more sugary based, Christmas is the time to take a break before we welcome in a new year.

Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan?

Are Sour Patch Kids Vegan?

Sour Patch Kids are sweets that have been enjoyed by many for years, but with a spotlight being shone on the ethicality of the ingredients in what we eat, many may now choose to avoid these classic favourites.

So, are Sour Patch Kids vegan? Keep reading to find out.

Let us send you some Goodness!

Join us now and receive emails about news and offers. We promise we won't spam you!