To save you the trouble of scouring the supermarket shelves, we've put together a list of the 5 best gluten-free crisps to try this year! These are just our 5 favourites, but there are definitely plenty of other good options out there too. Let's start with the basics.
Are Crisps Gluten-Free?
The simple answer is no, not all crisps are gluten-free. A lot of the time, it comes down to what the flavouring or seasoning is made with - which could include maltodextrin or wheat flour amongst other sneaky ingredients.
However, don't worry! There are numerous gluten-free options for delicious savoury snacks out there that you can try, and there are more and more brands coming out with gluten-free takes on your favourite potato snacks every day.
So whether you're looking for the perfect addition to your picnic basket, or just tasty, guilt-free snacks, this guide is here to help.
How Can I Tell If My Crisps Are Gluten-Free?
While some crisps might be clearly labelled gluten-free, other naturally gluten-free crisps might not be. The best way to tell for sure is by checking the ingredients list for anything that contains gluten. Common ingredients that contain gluten include:
If you see any of these listed, the product contains gluten and is not safe for a gluten-free diet. However, if the ingredients list only includes potatoes (or another type of starch), salt, and oil - then the product is likely gluten-free!
Important note: In order to be labelled 'gluten-free', products have to ensure that they contain no more than 20 parts per million (PPM) gluten.
To be 100% safe, those with coeliac disease should only eat crisps with "gluten-free" on the label.
This ensures that you can avoid cross contamination from factories that also handle gluten, and avoid any sneaky ingredients that might make you ill.
Now that we've got that out of the way, let's get into the 5 best gluten-free crisps to try this year.
Gluten-free Snack Hamper Gift Box
The 5 Best Gluten-Free Crisps
To be 100% sure please always check the labels yourself, recipes can change over time.
Hippeas are one of our favourite brands for gluten-free options, and for good reason! Their chips are made from chickpeas, which makes them a great source of protein and fibre. They come in a variety of other flavours, but we're especially partial to the Sweet & Smokin Chickpea Puffs.
Hippeas delicious Sweet & Smokin Chickpea Puffs are sprinkled with sweet paprika and smoked sea salt, giving them a unique and flavourful taste. These puffs are also vegan, making them a great option for those with gluten sensitivities or allergies.
Hippeas also offer gluten-free Chickpea Cheese Puffs and for a cheesy snack option!
2. Kettle Chips
Kettle Chips Vegetable Crisps are one of our absolute go-to's when it comes to plant-based snacks. Pair with some homemade hummus or enjoy on their own, these are an incredibly versatile and tasty snack.
Kettle Chips crisps are all certified gluten-free! They offer a number of other gluten-free flavours that are also made with natural ingredients, including:
- Sea Salt and Balsamic Vinegar flavour
- Sea Salt & Black Pepper flavour
- Vegan 'Sheese' and Red Onion.
Why not try some Kettle chips today?
3. Pipers Crisps
If you're looking for a fully gluten-free range, you're in luck! Pipers crisps are all gluten-free, from their tasty sweet chilli, to their cheddar and onion. Pipers also offer a number of other gluten-free flavours, all made with natural ingredients.
Pipers only work with the best of the best when it comes to flavouring and care as much about their products as we do about ours, which is why they've made it into our top 5!
Popchips are another fantastic gluten-free crisp option. These potato chips are popped, not fried, making them a healthier option than your traditional deep-fried crisp. Popchips come in a range of flavours, including tasty sea salt and vinegar, BBQ, crazy hot, aged white cheddar, salt and black pepper, and many more, all of which are gluten-free and made with natural ingredients.
5. Doritos Stax
If you're missing the crunchy texture of Doritos, their Sour Cream Stax Tortilla Chips are a great tasty snack with no gluten-containing-ingredients! These corn chips are flavoured with sour cream and onion, and are the perfect snack for when you're craving something savoury.
Note: although Doritos Stax do not contain any gluten in their ingredients, they are not certified gluten-free as they are made in a factory that also handles: Wheat, Soy, Gluten, Sesame. Doritos Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips is the only flavour of Doritos that Frito Lay claims to be gluten-free.
Gluten-Free Crisps FAQs
Which crisp brands do not contain gluten?
There are a number of brands that make gluten-free crisps, including Hippeas, Kettle Chips, Pipers Crisps and Popchips. These are some of our favourites, mainly because they're delicious, but also because they're made with natural ingredients and are certified gluten-free. If you're reading this in the US, Safe + Fair's pea chips are a fantastic choice.
Which Tesco crisps are gluten-free?
Tesco sells a range of gluten-free crisps, from Hippeas to Kettle Chips and Doritos Stax. Plus, they offer a wider range of free-from snacks, including free from cream crackers, pretzels and more.
Are Wotsits gluten free?
Unfortunately, Wotsits are not gluten-free, but Hippeas Chickpea puffs are the perfect solution if you're missing your cheesy Wotsits fix. There are also many cheesy flavoured gluten-free snacks available on the market, like those mentioned in our guide above!
Are Pringles gluten-free?
As most Pringles flavours are made with wheat starch, Pringles are not considered to be gluten-free. They are also not labelled as gluten-free, so best to give them a miss and try some new and exciting gluten-free crisp options instead!
Are Doritos gluten-free?
Most flavours of Doritos do not appear to contain gluten ingredients, however there is only one flavour of Doritos (Toasted Corn) that Frito Lay claims to be gluten-free. As Doritos are made in a factory that also handles: Wheat, Soy, Gluten, Sesame, they are not certified gluten-free by any third party certification programmes.
Do Walkers crisps contain gluten?
Yes, Walkers crisps contain gluten. On the Walkers website, they state that their crisps are not gluten-free so unfortunately, Walkers crisps are not a good option for those on a gluten-free diet.
Looking For More Tasty Gluten-Free Snacks?
Now that you know about the best gluten-free crisps out there, it's time to get snacking! Check out our delicious range of gluten-free hampers and gifts today. From gluten-free sweets, to nuts and savoury snack hampers, we have something to suit everyone.
And, if you're looking for more healthy, free-from or sustainable snack ideas, check out the rest of our blog! We hope you enjoyed this guide to the best gluten-free crisps. Happy snacking!
Shop our full range of healthy, plant-based snacks today!