The Pringle: A classic crisp staple of any buffet, or snack food. But if you’re a vegan, or you’ve just switched to a vegan diet, you might be experiencing The Pringle Pause.

Are Pringles Vegan? (A list of all flavours)

No, The Pringle Pause has nothing to do with the hand contortions you have to perform in order to get the perfect grabbing angle without risking pringle breakage against the tube. Instead, the Pringle Pause is because pringles come in so many different flavours that it can be hard to know which one’s vegan before you tuck in.

In this blog, we’ll list each current flavour of Pringle out there (correct at the time of writing), including the new Rice varieties, so that you can be assured in your snacking!

Please note: recipes can change over time, to be 100% certain it's always best to double-check the recipes yourself.

Which Pringles are Vegan?

For reference, we’re going to list all the vegan Pringle flavours available in the United Kingdom. Worldwide, these flavours could change and ingredients may vary so always check the ingredients on the tube to be safe.

Based on the information currently available and Pringles current recipe at the time of writing this piece, the flavours of Pringles that are vegan friendly are:

●     Pringles Original

●     Pringles Smokey Bacon

●     Pringles Texas BBQ Sauce

 

All of these flavours are 100% vegan due to their ingredients listed below:

  • Dehydrated Potatoes -- Potatoes with the majority of water removed.
  • Vegetable Oils -- Corn, sunflower
  • Rice Flour
  • Wheat Starch
  • Corn Flour
  • Emulsifier (E471) -- Usually E471 would refer to fatty acids derived from animals, but in Pringles, they are actually taken from plant sources!
  • Maltodextrin – A polysaccharide made from starch
  • Salt
  • Yeast Extract
  • Yeast Powder

Perhaps the most surprising find out of that list is the fact that Smokey Bacon Pringles are vegan! Their smokey flavour is derived from wood chips and sawdust which are firstly burned at high temperatures, then their smoke particles condensed into a concentrated liquid which gives off that strong smoke flavouring.

Meanwhile, their bacon flavouring comes from a mix of garlic and onion powders, combined with sugar, spices, coffee and other natural flavourings. Torula yeast is included too which is a type of fungus based yeast that when deactivated and dried can give off a smokey flavouring, so overall this probably adds to the illusion of bacon.

The caramel colouring is just more sugar (so perhaps they’re not the most healthy!) browned at high temperatures.

 

Which Pringles are not Vegan?

As you’ve probably guessed from such a short list, the list of pringles that aren’t vegan friendly far outweighs those that are and contains some surprising additions.

Unfortunately, vegans should stay away from the below flavours but it is worth noting that all of these pringles flavours are vegetarian friendly:

●     Pringles Salt & Vinegar

●     Pringles Cheese & Onion

●     Pringles Prawn Cocktail

●     Pringles Sour Cream & Onion

●     Pringles Piri Piri Chicken

●     PPringles Paprika

The main reason for this is because whilst all the products above contain the original ingredients as the vegan friendly pringles, they feature the addition of ingredients derived from dairy products, most notably, milk-derived lactose. This includes the very surprising Salt & Vinegar Pringles, which lists lactose as one of its seasoning flavours for the vinegar!

Are Pringles Rice Fusions Vegan?

Unfortunately, none of the new Pringles Rice Fusion flavours are vegan. Once again, all variations of the product contain ingredients that include lactose, which is of course derived from milk.

In Conclusion:

Thankfully, your snacking doesn’t have to be entirely prohibited! As long as your host or the food spread contains one of the four vegan choices, you can dig in fearlessly. However, due to two of the most popular Pringles flavours being non-vegan friendly, we recommend enquiring as to which flavours have been used if they are not listed or made apparent.

Pringles also do make sure to feature either the Vegan or Vegetarian badge on the front of their 200G tubes, so keep an eye out for those when snack shopping or alternatively, bookmark this blog.

About

Hello & Welcome 👋

My name is Anna and I'm the co-founder of The Goodness Project. This is a little place where we will be sharing some of the things that inspire us at The Goodness Project - the food, the brands, the people and the lifestyle. We hope you enjoy your stay! :)

More gift ideas

Our most popular gift boxes

View
The Little Treat Box The Little Treat Box

The Little Treat Box

£14.50
 / package
View
Vegan Chocolate and Snack Hamper Gift BoxVegan Chocolate and Snack Hamper Gift Box

Vegan Chocolate and Snack Hamper Gift Box

£29.95
£26.95
 / package
View
San Vito Organic Red Wine Gift Box HamperSan Vito Organic Red Wine Gift Box Hamper

San Vito Organic Red Wine Gift Box Hamper

£62.50
 / package

Did you read these?

More from the goodness blog

Can you go vegan if you have celiac disease?

Can you go vegan if you have celiac disease?

Although a lot of vegan foods are gluten-free, there are vegan foods that do contain gluten. 

A vegan diet is based upon eating plants and excludes foods derived from animals, (this means no cheese, eggs, meat or fish.)

Veganism has had a rise in the last few years. More and more people are choosing to alter their diet to exclude foods derived from animals. But what about gluten? Can people who have celiac disease thrive on a vegan diet without it leading to nutrient deficiency? Is it possible to go vegan if you have celiac disease?

Tequila Time at TGP

Tequila Time at TGP

This month it’s National Tequila Day on the 24th July, yes you heard right, it is a thing! Tequila like many spirit drinks is gaining popularity amongst us as we seek out craft alternatives that have great provenance and are made with love and care. Don Julio is an excellent example and as a company, Don Julio has a pretty interesting history.  

Introducing Gordon's Ultra Low G&T

Introducing Gordon's Ultra Low G&T

I am super excited this month to announce our brand partnership for October with Gordon’s Ultra Low. A perfect time for those looking to drink less or looking to find some delicious alternatives to enjoy as the party season begins next month.

Let us send you some Goodness!

Join us now and receive emails about news and offers. We promise we won't spam you!

CAPTCHA